twenty five before twenty five.

25 before 25 -01.png

We could alternatively title this, “I made Kristen do this exercise so now I have to too” but honestly, “twenty five before twenty-five” is a pretty lengthy title to begin with.

I’m big on resolutions, goal setting, giving things up, engaging in personal experiments, etc. but when I launched into 2017, I didn’t think all that much about what I wanted this year to look like, & I definitely stayed away from writing anything concrete down because to me, writing down is committing & making real & I just wanted these thoughts to stay nice in my head, nice in theory, nice for one day.

My other fatal flaw is that I am an incredible at ideation – I am terrible at execution & putting things to action. So bad. I can look at the list of resolutions I made last year & I kept one for sure. (Well, mostly kept it because there was definitely a Saturday in November where my giving up Coca Cola for a year resolution went out the window because I just needed a large, sugary drink to numb the pain that was in my heart & I was okay with it so you should be too.)

I’m also really good at encouraging others to stop talking & start doing… but super terrible at doing that myself. So with Kristen, I’m setting goals slash things slash ideas that I want to accomplish before I turn 25. Which gives me a year and a half (because less than six months just felt a lil too short to accomplish some of these things). Some of these are calendar year goals but maybe will slide into 2018, some of them are ridiculous & require explanation (like Hannah running a 5K), & others I think are smart (like paying off suffocating student debt faster).

So here’s my list of 25 things to do before I turn 25 – but also, if you have a list like this, I would love love love to hear it! Please share with me on various social media platforms. Or don’t. Go as the spirit moves you.

TWENTY FIVE BEFORE TWENTY FIVE.

I. Get some writing published. – This one is actually already in progress (eep!! surprise!!) but I’m procrastinating it by writing this blog post. Old habits die hard, people.

II. Finesse my clumsy design skills. – I work as a graphic designer now? I say that with a question mark because I still am not quite sure how it happened. Regardless, I now have very clumsy design skills, & I’d like to know how to use them better. Slash properly, because I would probably cut down on a lot of figuring out time at work if I could design things properly.

III. Read the Bible in a year (& finish this time!) – I tried this last year & made it to July & then it just fell flat on its face. So I’m trying it again this time on a platform I love & will passionately tell everyone about, ReadScripture! The videos have been so great. And having a reading buddy also helps (shout out to Dave, you are alright).

IV. Take Instagram & Twitter off my phone for a year – I started this on January 5 of 2017! I still can check them on desktop platforms & on my iPad, but it’s minimized how much data I use on my phone each month & to be honest, gives me fewer reasons to check my phone (because I run out of apps to refresh) (I’m being real here).

V. Read 1 book a week – this one is actually off to a good start! Kristen & I are also going to stop watching Netflix during weekdays in an effort to read more, so it helps to have a buddy to do this with too.

VI. Send one piece of snail mail a week – I always forget about this goal, so remind me & ask me to send you letters! Thanks. 🙂

VII. Run a 5K – I hear all of you snorting & giggling in Ontario all the way in Edmonton, you jerks. I’ve always said I can do anything I set my mind to – I just don’t set my mind to very many things. But one of the events I assist with at work is a 5K, where kids train all year to run a 5K & race day is this beautiful celebration of them crushing their goals. So I figured if they can do it, why can’t I? (& I have some super beautiful co-workers from work who are training/running the 5K with me – because doing things with people is better!)

VIII. Find a kick butt volunteering position.

IX. Find new music once a month – please, send me your suggestions for this! I want to get intentional about finding new music (Sleeping at Last & The Oh Hellos & the Hamilton soundtrack can only be listened to so many times).

X. Buy local, fair trade, used, & mindfully as much as possible – I am a terrible consumer & this is me, trying not to be terrible!

XI. Give up spending for 6 months. #minimalism – Okay I watched a minimalism documentary in December & now have passionate minimalism beliefs where I think, “Was Jesus the original minimalist?!” & “I should have a capsule wardrobe & live in a tiny home”. But also, I am terrible with my money & sometimes buy things to numb feeling through things, so I just want to get clear on money & spending in my life. This will start in March, I decided. It requires more fleshing out before then, as an FYI.

XII. Finish an Edmonton Bucket List – my mom gave me this last summer, & I want to complete it with my friends!

XIII. Cut the crap & tithe – Mainly, I want to get intentional about this, because I’m sick of sitting next to my mom in church & having her say, “This is where I have failed as a parent” every time the offering plate goes by & I don’t put anything in.

XIV. Blog more regularly – and not just when I’m mad at my dad wait what?

XV. Camp in the mountains. 

XVI. Do a 100 day art challenge – not sure what this looks like yet, but I don’t think it’s ever a bad thing to add a lil creativity into your day to day life.

XVII. Take a pottery class. 

XVIII. Travel to another continent.

XIX. Cut the crap about cooking & just do it – I’ve created a lot of untrue narratives about my abilities in the kitchen. Also, I’m lazy. It’s time to cut the crap & just do it, ya know?

XX. Pay off my suffocating student debt faster – I’m making well above the minimum payments on OSAP, but I also have parental debt I’d like to get rid of, so I just want it GONE.

XXI. Drink more water – & it doesn’t count if it’s saturated with coffee beans, Hannah.

XXII. Buy Blundstones – this really didn’t need to be it’s own thing, but here it is. Whatever. I’m hoping they last me 5ever.

XXIII. Shut up – & learn to listen just to listen, not to wait for my turn to speak (which, upon reflection, I am very guilty of).

XXIV. Learn spiritual disciplines & practice them. 

XXV. Something new (which I am leaving purposely ambiguous).

2 thoughts on “twenty five before twenty five.”

  1. i love your blog. can i give some new music ideas?!
    Oh Wonder
    Bob Moses
    M. Ward
    Andra Day
    Alexi Murdoch
    Andy Shauf
    Bishop Briggs
    Etta James
    The National
    H.E.R
    Lissie
    Sampha
    Sylvan Esso
    The War on Drugs
    Wet
    … alright that is probably enough. hope you find something new you really dig!!

Leave a Reply

